What a let down: Queen Forever Rant


I have been a fan of Queen for some years now, I have many of their albums, in one form or another. And I was naturally excited when Brian May and Roger Taylor announced another album ‘Queen Forever’. Naturally, I was excited for this, as I hoped much of their unreleased work/B-sides would be included. Instead, here is the track listings for the standard edition…

1. “Let Me In Your Heart Again”
2. “Love Kills – The Ballad”
3. “There Must Be More to Life Than This
4. “It’s a Hard Life”
5. “You’re My Best Friend”
6. “Love of My Life”
7. “Drowse”
8. “Long Away”
9. “Lily of the Valley”
10. “Don’t Try So Hard”
11. “Bijou”
12. “These Are the Days of Our Lives”
13. “Las Palabras de Amor
14. “Who Wants to Live Forever”
15. “A Winter’s Tale”
16. “Play the Game”
17. “Save Me”
18. “Somebody to Love”
19. “Too Much Love Will Kill You”
20. “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”

Can you see the problem? It is another bloody compilation album, including 3 unreleased tracks. Though technically, they’re already on YouTube as bootlegs, so what you’re really getting is a collection of previously released tracks. What a pile of steaming crap. In fact, apart from the 3 new songs, all the other songs on there I already own! 17 out of 20 songs on a NEW album, and I already own them. If I wanted to listen to those new songs (And when I say new, I mean new to the Queen catalogue). And then they’re releasing a deluxe edition, with 2 discs, containing the 3 songs and then ALL PREVIOUSLY RELEASED MATERIAL, though in a different order with some different tracks not on the standard version.

As you can tell, this pisses me off somewhat. And this is the first full rant I have made in a long time. I know Freddie is dead, so new material from him is kind of out of the picture, and John is retired, but that is not important. And yes, the new tracks are sort of a big deal, I am not denying that. But it feels lazy in my opinion that they are releasing another compilation album. It is essentially Deep cuts volumes 1-3 (where some of the lesser known tracks from their albums are compiled). I spoke to my Younger brother (aged 10), and even he agreed that it seemed stupid to do that (though I explained it to him by showing him two action figures, both being the same, but one had an extra weapon).

I am honestly disappointed. This is something I have been looking forward to for some months now. I knew about those unreleased tracks, and when Michael Jackson died, it was only a matter of time before it got released. A Queen and Michael Jackson track; with Freddie, will sell super well. Heck, it would most definitely be a top 10 hit when it is out. But back to the point, the only thing this album has going for it is the new songs, and when fans put the videos on YouTube, heck, the music videos will be up too, then the album has nothing going for it. Heck, it has nothing going for it now, ALL THE SONGS ARE ALREADY AVAILABLE!!!!

I think it is known by people that I will not be buying ‘Queen Forever’. I could, if I really wanted to, download the songs from iTunes, because I can. But then I would still be pumping money into the machine. And that would really have no logic. You either buy the album, or you don’t. I am not going to buy 3 songs, for the sake of owning them. And sadly, many fans will buy this album, for the sake of having the 3 songs in their collection. It would have made much more sense if some of the B Sides and rarities, plus these 3 ‘new’ songs were put on an album. If they did just that then NONE OF THIS WOULDN’T HAPPEN, AND I WOULD HAVE ANOTHER THING ON MY CHRISTMAS LIST!!!! Anyway, I already had an idea like that called ‘Going Back’. I basically took B-Sides and rarities, and put them on one album, I will post a link to the original post, so you can see. Conclusion: Don’t buy Queen Forever.


About the author


Since 2012, Benjamin Attwood has written for the If you Ask Ben blog.

Add comment


By Ben




%d bloggers like this: